George Washington’s Headquarters
George Washington slept here!
A humble log cabin, twice occupied by George Washington.
1755: In his role as aide-de-camp to General Braddock, a young George Washington used this one-room cabin during his service in the French and Indian War.
1794: 40 years later, President George Washington returned to Cumberland. As Commander-In-Chief of the American Army, he reviewed the troops as they set off to put down the Whiskey Rebellion that was taking place over the border, in western Pennsylvania.
The small log cabin was originally built circa 1755 by General Edward Braddock’s men on the site of Fort Cumberland, overlooking Wills Creek and the Potomac river.
Today, the humble cabin stands at Riverside Park, about 2 blocks away from it’s original location. Visitors can peer into the windows and see historical artifacts of what the cabin may have looked like – including a bed, desk, and fireplace as well as a life-size wax replica of Washington. It is the only building to survive from the original Fort.